May Favourites 2016

I have decided to do this post because I see people do them on YouTube quite often and I always look forward to seeing them if it’s a regular thing a particular Youtuber I like does, although it’s not the same in blog format I still hope you will get some enjoyment out of it. I think posts or videos like this are a really cool and an exciting way to introduce you to new things you might not have thought to try before. They can be inspirational and motivating when experiencing or experimenting with new things. If there is anything I have missed out in this post that you would like to know please let me know in the comments!

TV Shows: Teen Wolf – I started watching this and had finished both series’ in about three days, although the special effects are slightly bad you can get past it because everything else is just so damn addictive!

Gossip Girl – I know this finished a few years ago but I started watching it earlier on in the year and I have just fallen in love with all of the characters, I’m rooting for Chuck and Blair right now!

Orphan Black – although this is quite complicated and science-y it’s really good and Tatiana Maslany’s performance is just so impressive, it’s a completely one-of-a-kind and unique TV show – I really suggest you go and check it out!

ALL OF THE ABOVE ARE AVAILBLE ON NETFLIX

Lost – I bought the first season of this from a charity shop, lots of people say it’s really good and lots of people say it’s really bad so I wanted to give it a go and I am completely hooked! It is so dramatic and thrilling to watch! I’m loving finding out the backstory of all the characters (Little fact, it has Ian Somerhalder in it!)

Band: The Vamps

Album: Handwritten by Shawn Mendes I have been listening to this album on repeat for the past like, three months! I am so obsessed and it’s so good!

Beauty Products: 

L’Oréal Elvive shampoo and conditioner – the reason I love this shampoo and conditioner so much is because it leaves my hair feeling really fresh and soft and if I let my hair soak in the conditioner for five minutes it’s like the split ends aren’t even there, it’s an absolute miracle item!

Philips Sonicare AirFloss – my Mum bought this a few years back and no one really used it but since getting braces and finding it more difficult to keep my teeth clean I have been using this multiple times a day and it is an absolute life-saver! I love it so much!

MUA waterproof mascara in black – this is my one and only mascara and it’s so good! I’ve had lots of other mascaras of varying prices and I find this is the one with the best brush and it makes my eyelashes longer and blacker than other mascaras I’ve worn. It’s also waterproof and it’s only £1!

Impulse vanilla body spray – I got this at a birthday party last year and I have been obsessed with it ever since! It is just such a lovely smell, it makes everything smell really sweet and calm and it just makes me feel really good about myself!

Body Shop seaweed face mask – I use this once a week on my face to help reduce blackheads and whiteheads and just generally get my face a bit fresher and cleaner and it is so good, although it takes some time before you really start to see a difference you really can see a difference if you use it weekly. Where I once used to have loads of really visible blackheads you can now hardly see them, I’m not even sure if what you can see is blackheads or just my pores… Sorry it’s so expensive, my Mum buys it but it really is worth it!

Inspirations:

Thomas Brodie-Sangster – is just a general inspiration to me, I love how he seems like such a genuine down-to-earth guy and like one of the nicest people you will ever meet but he’s also been really successful and been in all these awesome films. He is also so talented it is absolutely unbelievable, everything he does he does with complete dedication and all his performances are completely convincing!

Tatiana Maslany – I would just like to say before I continue, I want to be an actor which is why all my main inspirations are actors. Tatiana is such a talented actress it’s hard to believe she’s even human, in her biggest TV show Orphan Black she’s a clone and so she has to play multiple characters of a range of different personalities and when I’m watching it I can’t even tell that I’m watching the same actress, she moves differently and she spokes differently, she’s like a whole new person and it’s just incredible! I hope to be able to act like her one day

Dylan O’Brien – this has been brought on by my obsessive Teen Wolf watching but the reason he inspires me is because it seems that he manages to completely forget himself when acting and that’s really inspiring to me. I’m very self-conscious and don’t really talk all that much in group activities and other things because I feel like no one really pays me any attention or hears me when I speak, there are people that still don’t know my name after two years… Anyway, having watched Dylan O’Brien in many interviews due to my obsession with The Maze Runner I have found that he’s actually really self-conscious, nervous and shy when being interviewed in front of a big audience or even in a tiny room where it’s just him and the interviewer (and whoever’s filming it!) and he can come across as quite awkward but I can relate to him because watching him is how I feel when I’m in public. Anyway, the things Dylan does in Teen Wolf are really silly and comedic and he’s supposed to be the nerdy funny character and it’s clear that he doesn’t seem to have any of that awkwardness and he doesn’t let his self-consciousness mess with his amazing acting and I find that really inspiring as I feel like I’m not going to reach my full potential as an actor if I can’t get over how self-conscious I feel and it’s nice to know there’s someone out there like me that has managed to overcome that fear.

Book/s: Username: Evie by Joe Sugg – I read this because I love Joe’s Youtube channel and I wanted to support him, I’m not the biggest fan of graphic novels but I found that I actually really, really liked this! The story was interesting and exciting and the characters were really relatable.

Consumed by Abbie Rushton – I only finished this book at the end of the month but I read it in two days because I was so hooked and it was so good! There was a strong theme on mental illness which I think is really important, because no book that I’ve ever read has had a main character that has a mental illness but they’re normal. Basically, any book I’ve ever read where there’s been a character who’s mentally ill they’ve been in a hospital and they scream and attack people and they’re there for killing someone or something. But the teenagers in this are portrayed as normal everyday teenagers who have the same interests as everyone else just they have these problems that other people don’t deal with and it was so interesting and really nice to see someone actually writing a book like this.

Film: The Internship – not gonna lie, this is the only DVD I’ve actually watched this month so there weren’t many contenders. I bought this DVD from Poundland but not because it was cheap and I thought “Yeah, why not?” but because I’ve actually wanted to watch this DVD in ages and then I came across it in Poundland and I was so excited! It’s really funny, it has a great cast and it just makes you feel kind of cool.

Youtuber: Kalyn Nicholson – I have been watching a lot of Kalyn’s videos lately and because of exams I haven’t been able to watch as much YouTube as I would normally but when I do go on there, Kalyn’s are the videos I’m usually watching at the moment. I find Kalyn’s videos really inspiring and motivational and she gives you such good ideas on what to do. She recently did a video on 5 ways to get fit for summer without the gym and I really loved that video and after exams when I have more time I totally plan on doing some of the things in her video.

Song: Love Yourself by Justin Bieber

Food: Gnocchi and party rings.

So those are all my May Favourites! If you enjoyed this post please give it a like! If you’re new around here click the follow button and leave a comment saying hi! If there is anything you would like me to add to this list please leave a comment and I will try my best to add it! If you’ve done a similar post feel free to leave a link in a comment! Last but not least, if any of the links don’t work or they lead to a different thing than what you were expecting please let me know and I’ll fix it!

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

NOTE: I would just like to say that I have not been sponsored or paid to mention any of the above, it’s just my preferences being passed down to you!

3 thoughts on “May Favourites 2016

Leave a Reply

