Perspective & Growing Up

This blog post came to me the other day when I walked up the road with my Mum to our local supermarket. As we walked I ended up thinking about the difference walking there now and how it was walking there when I was a child.

When I was a child, walking up the road to our local supermarket felt like a massive commitment! Something that would take about forty-five minutes, and when you’re a child forty-five minutes is a long time, now, it’s almost nothing. So, when I was little walking to my local shop took me about forty-five minutes because I had little legs and slowed time down by gaming about and playing with my siblings on the way there. Now, it takes me about ten-fifteen minutes to walk there and back.

I live in a smallish three bedroom house and the biggest room is a decent size – you can have a double bed, a desk, a wardrobe, a bookcase and a chest of drawers in there comfortably and be able to navigate round the room but there isn’t really any floor space left. That room is my Mum’s room now but when we were younger my sister and I shared that room and thinking back to it, it felt like the biggest room in the whole world! It was absolutely massive, there was loads of floor space, we had a massive desk for when we did arty things, we both had those beds that were high up with space underneath and now it doesn’t feel exciting or massive at all it feels like a decent sized master bedroom.

A good few years ago if I was leaving the house in half an hour to meet friends or go to an activity etc. I would have loads of time to me, I could have played a game, read a book, watched half of a TV show and still have time left. Now, I have to dedicate and entire half an hour (if not more) to doing my hair, make-up and everything else. Half an hour now feels like five minutes back then.

We have family friends who live in London and our whole lives we’ve been travelling by car up to meet them (unless they’ve come to us) and when I was younger that too felt like such a long journey that took about three hours (it never actually took that long) and now it feels like it takes no time at all.

I don’t know if this has happened to anyone else but as I’ve got older my view and awareness of the world has changed as well. My Mum has never lied to me about anything if I’ve ever asked her a question and she’s always tried to educate me on history and politics and things like that so I’ve never been unaware but as a child even if you get educated on those things you don’t truly understand what they mean until you grow up. As I’ve grown up, especially in the last two or so years I’ve learnt a lot more about politics and the true effects decisions they make contribute to the change in our communities. I’ve also learnt more about disadvantaged people that don’t get enough support or people that are discriminated against such as: LGBT people, poor people, women, black people, refugees, the homeless, the elderly, the young and although I was aware all of these people existed I wasn’t aware of the true extent of how they were discriminated against and being disadvantaged by the government. Also, when I was younger I had no concept of how big the world really is, no concept of different cultures in other countries or how the country I live in is actually a very small one compared to loads of other countries. I didn’t have any proper concept on travel, although I knew I could go to these places I didn’t really know what the difference was between getting a plane to America or driving to London. Didn’t properly understand the meaning of people talking in different languages.

When I was a child my life plan was simple, I want to work with dogs. Walking them, training them, clearing out their kennels, I didn’t care as long as it was working with dogs. Back then it seemed like the easiest thing in the world to do, I thought I would turn 16 or 18 and then get a job with dogs. Those were the easy years, then I grew up and realised I had to do my GCSEs and decided I wanted to do my A-Levels and then go to acting school/university and everything stopped being quite so simple. I also realised that one day I would have to move out, buy my own house, pay my own bills and be completely independent and responsible for myself. No more lying in bed for three days with a cold and being brought food on a tray, one day I’m going to have to do all that myself. Of course, my concept of life has also changed and I’ve been trying to come to terms with the fact that one day I’m going to die and face oblivion. My biggest fear in the entire world.  It’s true to say that life becomes a lot more difficult as you grow up.

I don’t know about you but I more often than not wish I was still a child with not a care or understanding of the world. I used to think the world was my perfect little playground, now I see it as more of a battleground.

I really hope you enjoyed this post, if you did give it a like! If you’re new around here please follow me and leave a link to your blog so I can check it out! If you can relate to any of the things in this post or maybe your opinion/experience is slightly different leave a comment down below!

Lastly, if you have any ideas on tags or posts that you would like to see me do you can get in contact through the comments or through my twitter. I would be really happy to know your thoughts on posts I’ve done so far and any ideas on posts I should do in the future!

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Perspective & Growing Up

  1. I know exactly how this feels, the change in perspective between being a child and now nearly joining the adult world. I love this post, you made it very relatable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think everyone knows how it feels and it’s so scary, I hadn’t even properly realised until only the other day. Thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it 🙂 It’s always really nice getting feedback 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

