Drunken Nights

My post today is going to be about alcohol. Don’t worry, I’m not going to be talking about how you can’t have a party without getting drunk or anything, in fact the complete opposite.

I don’t ever plan on drinking alcohol, I just don’t see the point to be honest. It’s known to be bad for you and it messes with your head and memories if you drink too much. It can also cause cancer and a range of other healthy problems, so why drink it? I know there are lots of things we consume that are unhealthy for us e.g. sugar, chocolate, salt etc. but I think it’s just so unnecessary to drink alcohol and to have lots of chocolate and sugar but anyway.

I think the expectations put on teenagers these days to drink is ridiculous and people’s misuse of alcohol and using it recklessly, I feel like it’s become so much more than it used to be. This year I turn 16 and I have this massive dream of having a 16th Birthday Party but I don’t think that’s actually going to be possible because everyone will want to get drunk and either expect me to provide alcohol or provide their own alcohol and I don’t want to be surrounded by drunken teenagers on my birthday so it would be a bit ruined if I had a big 16th birthday party, but it makes me really sad because why should I have to lose out on something I really want because of other people’s recklessness? Why can’t I have a party if I want to without having to provide toxic drinks to underage people?

I know a guy who got really bad alcohol poisoning recently and admittedly he is legally old enough to drink but he shouldn’t be getting alcohol poisoning and ending up in the hospital for an entire weekend at the age of 18, people shouldn’t be getting alcohol poisoning ever! But he’s drinking because of expectations put on us by society and our peers and the media really isn’t doing anything to help the situation. It makes me increasingly angry when I see things with constant alcohol consumption – I’ve recently finished watching Gossip Girl and all the characters were constantly drinking and it wasn’t even talked about or really thought of as a big issue just a way of life for them, the same with The Vampire Diaries which I am currently watching; all the vampires drink alcohol becomes it numbs their desire for blood so they are constantly consuming alcohol and I don’t understand why they couldn’t have used a different drink to numb their desire for blood like cranberry juice or coffee why does it have to be alcohol? It’s just ridiculous and it’s further presenting alcohol as a good normal thing and not that it shouldn’t be consumed in the huge amounts that it’s actually consumed in.

One of the activity groups I attend, each week we sit in a circle and share our news of the week and there is always at least two-three stories of people getting drunk and having fall-outs or doing silly stupid things like falling down the stairs but it’s not actually a silly funny thing it’s actually really dangerous to be falling down the stairs because you’re too drunk to properly walk down the stairs and people share stories of their friends being drunk and everyone else around the circle laughs like it’s the funniest thing in the world and not something to be embarrassed about or something that people should disapprove of but something that’s fun to tell stories about. There are even underage people in my group that talk about getting drunk and instead of saying they shouldn’t be doing that the teachers of the group laugh along with them and share stories of their own drunken nights and it angers me so much that no one takes getting drunk as a serious thing.

I’ve had adults try and encourage me to drink before or adults try to encourage people I know to drink before even though they know we’re underage. I know people who drink more than they should and then drive and it’s so ridiculous that they can’t just be sensible and do things safely.

Why has being drunk become something to be proud with yourself about rather than something that you should be embarrassed about, yes I understand that sometimes people drink very little and end up drunk in a way they could never explain or have expected but deliberately drinking to get drunk at a party to have a nice time is just crazy! I even understand people with difficult lives drinking to drown away their sorrows or whatever but people drinking to have a better time is just something I do not understand – how does feeling sick and dizzy and not being able to remember the night the morning after make you have a better time? I would rather have a nice time by consciously being able to interact with people and remember the party the next day rather than stumbling around in high heels the entire night and then the next morning having all my memories be really fuzzy and have a killer headache.

Drinking is just something I will never understand, I think it’s absolutely saddening to think that the expectations of getting drunk have been put on teenagers in this day and age where they feel trapped without a choice of whether or not to drink; if we do drink we feel ill and don’t remember things but if we don’t drink we will always be viewed as outsiders who don’t fit in with everyone else, that no one likes or wants to invite to parties because they’re a ‘party pooper’ for not drinking. The fact that I can’t even have a birthday party for myself because of society and these expectations makes me so angry! I’ve been told I don’t have a life before because I don’t drink, I was told this at the age of 13! How have we come to live in a world that at the age of 13 I don’t have a life if I don’t drink? It’s so depressing!

Does anyone else feel like this or is it just me? Let me know in the comments!

That’s the end of this post, if you enjoyed or agree with it please give it a like and follow me (if you already are then thank you so much!).

Lastly, if you have any ideas for tags, challenges, series or posts I can do in the future that you yourself have done or you’ve seen other people do you can suggest them to me in the comments, via twitter or you can e-mail them to me – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

23 thoughts on “Drunken Nights

  1. I agree with most of this post, however I do not think that there is more pressure to drink alcohol than there used to be. Now this of course applies to my individual perspective but I have never had any pressure to drink when I’ve been at parties and always stay sober without much trouble. I have spoken to my mum about this and she said that she would always hold a drink so people didnt pester her. I also know both my parents drank at a lot younger age than I have. I dont think that the pressure to has increased (probably decreased) more that people have become more aware-also may be more for girls. I do agree that one does not need to be drunk to have a good time. I do see however see why people get drunk, especially at parties as it gives you more confidence and for some people they come out of their shell. I’m not saying that it is a good thing just stating facts. You also have to be quite drunk to not remember things and to be hungover, this binge drinking I do not see the point of. However, there has been a group of people forgotten in this post that just get a little bit tipsy not very often which really isnt so bad. I’m not encouraging underage drinking but if people want to do it they are going to. I do think it is ridiculous that people don’t get invited to parties because they don’t drink and that you are supposed to provide for a 16th! That is crazy. I guess as you get older being drunk will become less and less of a new thing and young adults will become more responsible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! I think maybe the pressure to drink hasn’t become more but with all the new media, books and films/TV programmes that exist now that didn’t years ago people can promote drinking easier and I think even if you’re not pressured into drinking from other teenagers they expect you to drink and if you don’t they think you’re a bit weird. I keep it no secret that I don’t intend to drink because I don’t. why lie about it but people always look at me like I’m crazy when I tell them that. I feel like there are lots of people that throw parties or go to parties just for the alcohol and I think that’s really sad. I think getting drunk gives you more confidence as well but as someone who isn’t very confident I don’t see why alcohol is the way to become more confident, because truthfully you’re only confident because your drunk and the next day you’ll go back to being unconfident. You mentioned people getting tipsy and how I had left them out in this post, I wasn’t necessarily trying to make a post in which I talked about all the different groups of alcohol drinkers, it was mainly just talking about teenagers and the expectations laid on them to drink and the expectation they lay on others to drink and the promotion drinking lots gets in the media. I don’t think getting a bit tipsy is necessarily a terrible thing either although I wouldn’t choose to do it myself.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think people look at you like you’re crazy because they probably don’t believe you and the amount of people that have never consumed alcohol in this world are small lol. I agree with everything you said and commend you in your sobriety. I do find it interesting that alcohol is such a large part of going out and partying, I also do not see it as a good thing. I think the best thing to do is just promote responsible drinking as I doubt alcohol consumption will cease or decrease any time soon.

        Like

      2. I think they probably don’t believe that I can do it, but I think they believe that I want to do it but that I’m young and I’ll change my mind when I get older, but to them I think it’s the idea of never drinking alcohol that makes them look at me weird. Thank you! Exactly, if people did that then I would feel more comfortable but they don’t, they promote binge drinking and getting drunk every weekend as the normal thing for teenagers to do and it’s not. Thank you so much for all your comments, it’s nice to be having a discussion with someone 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you so much! Alcohol and drugs have been idolised so much that some people think you can not live life to the full without it. Personally I don’t think I will ever drink; having seen the consequences, it is not something desirable in my eyes, yet I’m not against people drinking it for whatever reason as long as it isn’t because it’s the trend or it’s cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you agree! I was so scared to write this post and the comments I would receive but it’s so amazing to read that there are so many people out there that agree with me, I just didn’t know anyone else held the same views as I did! I’m not against it either as long as people are using it sensibly and not endangering anyone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s really good that you approach and speak the unspoken aspects of life. There’s always going to be people opposing your opinion but you’ll always find like-minded people.

        Yep agreed there…drunk drivers are a no no! And other alcohol fuelled activities.

        Thank you for following me – it has helped me discover an amazing blogger with a very fascinating blog

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well I am glad, I spend a lot of time thinking about life and society (probably because I spent about a month with my head in a sociology textbook) and there are so many things that people never talk about that really need to be talked about but no one ever has the courage to speak up about them. Aww, you’re welcome! Thank you for following me and saying such a wonderful thing about my blog 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well thinking about society is quite interesting and leads to deep thoughts aha. Ooh you study sociology – how is it? I love finding blogs talking about issues like it – sorta up my street

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I did study sociology for my GCSE and I thought it was pretty good, I was so fed up with it by the time of my exam I wanted to burn every single page one by one but the topics within the book were really interesting! I really enjoyed it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I binge read your posts last night xD I’ve always been curious about home schooling and it was nice reading about your experience. How did your GCSE go? Mine finishes tomorrow woohoo aha. Yea from what I’ve heard sociology sounds interesting

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Haha! Thank you so much, I’m so glad I managed to entertain you for so long! I think it went pretty well, I found sociology the most difficult GCSE as you had a 12 mark question which was quite difficult to answer. Oh, congratulations! I hope it goes well 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it has, this has been a strong opinion I have held for so long and I’m so glad I’ve been getting positive feedback from everyone, honestly I thought people would be really annoyed that I had posted this! Definitely not, I would rather have no friends than friends through poisoning myself! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t feel pressured to drink because honestly no matter how much hate people throw at me because of it, I would rather deal with that than being drunk and all the health issue that may develop through drinking. It’s just annoying that I can’t hang out with people that I might want to hang out with because they have no interest in anything other than getting drunk. Yes, having fun responsibly should be my motto! 🙂

      Like

  3. YES, I needed this post! Someone feels the same about alcohol – thank god I’m not alone. Whenever I don’t drink, I feel somehow out of place. I just don’t like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

