Lets Talk… Hate

You may be wondering the difference between hate and bullying, I don’t know what the true definition is but to me the difference is bullying is when you’re actually mean to someone to their face even if you don’t hate them and hate is another thing that can be carried out without even knowing the person. Of course there is cyberbullying where people be horrible to you on the internet and say damaging things but I think there is much more hate on the internet than there is bullying. You will always see someone who has purposefully gone onto a website or a YouTube video and just leaves horrible comments for no reason at all, without even watching the video or reading the things on the website. You also get hate with people who decided they don’t like someone randomly without even knowing them, such as people who are racist or homophobic.

There are people in the world who I would say I hate, such as, David Cameron, Nigel Farage, Jeremy Hunt etc. but I feel like people use the word hate way too readily and they say it when they don’t really mean it, I think hate is a very strong word to just be throwing around all the time. There have been a number of people that I have known personally and would claim to hate but I don’t think I have any strong enough emotions towards them to feel hatred. It’s only as I’ve grow up that I’ve realised what hate is, and it’s also only as I’ve learnt more about politics and developed political views that I’ve realised who I hate and who I just say I hate through lack of a better word. I have even said I hate actors before when I just dislike them, I don’t know them or enough about them to hate them and I certainly don’t feel anything as strongly as hate.

I think people who send hate messages on social media and other places on the internet do hate something but it’s not necessarily the person they’re insulting in the comments, maybe they hate themselves a little bit, or they hate the world, or school, or parents and they feel this hate so strongly that they just need somewhere they can go to let out all of this hate and it’s not appropriate to do it in their real lives so they end up doing it online – especially now that people can do things like that anonymously. Let’s be truthful here; we’ve all had moments where we’ve just been so angry or frustrated that we’ve wanted to let out some of that hatred on something and although I have never considered the internet a place to let out all my rage other people have a different way of looking at it.

Some of my family members describe themselves as hating some of the celebrities I obsess over simply because I obsess over them and they are constantly having to hear me talk about them and firstly, there is no way they can have a strong enough opinion on that person to actually hate them and secondly, they shouldn’t hate someone they don’t know because of someone they do know, that’s not right.

It makes me really sad when I see hate messages on celebrities’ tweets or on YouTubers’ videos because it’s so unnecessary, there is a piece of popular advice given and that’s “if you’ve got nothing nice to say, don’t say anything” and I think this is a really valuable piece of advice and one that I stick to all the time because there is just no need for there to be so much negativity in the world and through the power of freedom of speech people should be allowed to express whatever they like without being subject to hate from others because at the end of the day: the world isn’t perfect and our species will never be in complete agreement with each other but that’s no reason for there to be constant conflict between people.

The internet is an absolutely incredible thing and it continues to amaze me day after day but something this incredible shouldn’t be used for bad, it should only be used for good. The internet was created as a useful resource not a weapon and people should keep it that way, I think if the internet is used for good and only for good then the world will become a better place but it’s because of all these lies and hate that people spread around the internet that there are so many people that live in fear of ever starting a blog to express themselves or sending out that particular tweet because they don’t want to deal with the haters but as Taylor Swift said, “The haters are going to hate” so don’t let them put you off, because at the end of the day they are just nervous little people who feel alone in the world and they hate on others to make themselves feel better, it doesn’t have anything to do with you. They hate to get noticed even if it’s for the wrong reason.

I really hope you enjoyed this post, if you did give it a massive like and a follow – unless you’re already following me, if you are then thank you so much! You can also leave any comments you have about this post down below, I would love to read and respond to them!

Lastly, if you have any requests for posts, tags, challenges or series’ I could do in the future please feel free to suggest them in the comments, via twitter or e-mail them to me – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

3 thoughts on “Lets Talk… Hate

  1. I really, really loved this post! I don’t understand why people have to hate so much and how they hate so easily. Especially towards celebrities that I see as role models, it’s like people are insulting me in a way, because they’re attacking people I love. But you can’t really do anything about it but leave them be and it’s hard sometimes, but that’s ultimate the only thing you can do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really glad you liked it, when I came up with the idea I thought it was really good but when I actually got round to writing it I felt I didn’t really have a lot to say… I’m glad that wasn’t actually the case! I know! I hate it when people insult people I like, especially when they insult them for really stupid reasons… it’s makes me so mad! Thank you for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

