Let’s Talk… Transphobia

This is the last post in my ‘let’s talk’ series for now as I have run out of other topics to talk about, if you have any ideas for topics I could talk about please let me know as I have really enjoyed doing this series and don’t want it to be over yet. Submit your suggestions to me in the comments, on twitter or you can e-mail them to me – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

With that all said, let’s get into the post!

The reason I decided to do a post about transphobia is because I read a book that was really affecting to me and was also absolutely incredible! The book was called The Art Of Being Normal | Lisa Williamson and it was about a transgender girl who was still stuck in her male body and how she dealt with it all and it was just unlike any book I have ever read so I really suggest you go and check it out! I’m not going to say much more because I don’t want to give it away but it was just great. Because of this book I realised quite how much transgender people are discriminated against and I just don’t understand it. When I hear of someone being transgender I feel so sorry for them because it must be absolutely awful for them! There is always a stage in your life growing up where you question who you are and find out you don’t quite know who you are or even who you want to be in the future and I hate that feeling, but I imagine being a girl trapped in a boy’s body or vice versa is about a trillion times worse than the feelings I’ve ever had because they know that they’re not who they really are.

I think people should do as much as they possibly can to help transgender people not discriminate against them or call them freaks like in the book, they’re not freaks they’re human beings who are all alone in the this world because they don’t think they can talk to any about what’s going on with them.

I am a very paranoid person and I always think there are things wrong with me (if I’ve got a headache I convince myself it’s a brain tumour, if I’ve got a stomach ache I convince myself I’m pregnant even though that is completely impossible! If I’ve got a cold and can’t breathe through my nose I think I’m going to suffocate to death,) and there have been a few times in my life when I’ve wondered whether I am transgender because I never really know how a transgender person feels, thinks or behaves. After reading this book I realised just how wrong I had been, I had realised before hand that I wasn’t actually transgender but there were just those days when you wish you were a boy because boys have it easier in life at times – I also think boys personalities are way cooler and more out-going at times and they get away with way more stuff but I never seriously wanted to be a boy. After reading this book I realised how much being in the wrong body dominates the thoughts and actions of the person, I’m assuming this book was accurate. For example, the character in the book would measure themselves everyday because they hated how tall they were getting because they were in a male body and males grow to be taller than women. She measured her height, her foot size, she examined the hair on her body I think, she also measured her penis size because obviously she didn’t actually want it there. I’ve met a girl in my life who was in the body of a boy and she was very young (about seven) and even at such a young age it was obvious that she was transgender because according to my sister she had once tried to cut her penis of in the bathroom because she didn’t understand what it was or why it was there , because obviously at such a young age, if you’re a girl you don’t understand why you have body parts that other girls don’t have. It was an absolutely heart-breaking story that still effects me now.

I am very glad that people can have surgery and take hormones so they can be in a body they are comfortable in, I imagine that wasn’t once possible so they had to spend their entire lives in bodies that weren’t they’re own. It’s horrible how science can go so wrong sometimes and effect people so badly because of it. I can’t imagine how amazing it must feel to finally be able to be in a body that you can call your own – in my head I don’t think there could be a better feeling than that, after everything the person must have been through finally being able to be themselves would be the greatest feeling in the world.

Throughout the whole of this ‘Let’s Talk’ series I have discussed topics on discrimination, prejudice and bullying as a result of prejudice and I have talked about all the reason I am against people’s discrimination. I am a person that strongly believes that all people are people and they should all be treated equally. There should be no white or black division. No male or female division. No heterosexual or homosexual division. No non-transgender or transgender division. No rich or poor division. In the eyes of the world we should all be seen as equal because in the most important way – the inside – we all are. It doesn’t matter if we’re male or female, gay, bisexual or ‘straight’, it doesn’t matter if we’re black or white, rich or poor, transgender or not transgender our thoughts and feelings are all the same. We all love, smile, laugh, get frustrated, get angry, cry… the list is endless but it is all of these actions that make us human – it’s the way we interact with others that make us human – not how much money we earn or what colour/gender we are that’s just an insignificant part of who we are. Transgender people are people just like the rest of us, who need our support, understanding and love to get through their hard times in life not to be pushed down by all the horrible people out there in the world who believe that there’s something not right about being transgender, and they’re right, there is something wrong with being transgender and it’s the fact that the poor person was born into a body that wasn’t their own and told to live with it and hide in the shadows.

I really hope you enjoyed this post and in fact this entire ‘Let’s talk’ series, unfortunately this was the last post but this is the most fun I’ve had writing posts and it’s also the best and most meaningful posts I’ve written I think. If you did enjoy this post please make sure to give it a like and if you aren’t already, follow me! Comment down below on anything you have to say – whether it’s telling me something I missed out, something I got wrong, telling me you agree etc. although I must ask that there are no negative comments on this subject.

As always if you want to get in touch you can do it in the comments, on twitter or e-mail me – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

One thought on “Let’s Talk… Transphobia

Leave a Reply

