Soulmates/Fate

Hey guys, sorry I didn’t post yesterday, I was having a slightly bad day and I was also absolutely exhausted and slept for lots of the day! I don’t know what’s wrong with me!

Anyway, today I’m going to write a post about soulmates and fate and whether I believe in either of those things, funnily enough I was thinking of writing a post about this and then my best friend asked me yesterday on the phone if I believed in it and given that I was properly thinking about it I thought now was the perfect time to write a post about it!

I consider soulmates and fate to be kind of magical and mythic and both of those things I don’t tend to believe in but over the years things have happened and it’s made me think that maybe I do believe in it a little bit – or at least I like to think I do. I don’t believe in God but I like to think that some things are meant to happen, but only the good things. You quite often see quotes on the internet saying things like “don’t worry if your life is bad now because God has big plans for you” or something like that and it’s supposed to help you get through the bad time in your life but I like to think that certain things are meant to happen and maybe bad things happen for a short period of time for a much bigger outcome but I don’t ever consider bad things that happen to be fate.

I never used to believe in soulmates because I knew that people got into relationships and then broke up and had best friends that eventually drifted apart so I thought if there was such a thing as a soulmate then this wouldn’t happen. But then three years ago I met my best friend and it wasn’t an instant connection like you read about in books and we haven’t been insepearable ever since but we got each others contact details and even though she lives quite far away from me and I’ve only seen her about six or seven times in three years we’re still best friends and we understand each other in a way no one else ever has and it’s really wonderful having a friend like her but anyway, the point is, I’ve had loads of best friends – I’ve never really gone through a period of my life where I haven’t had someone that I’ve called a best friend – but with my best friend now it’s completely different, we have a better friendship than any other friendship I’ve ever had and when we say we’re going to be best friends forever I actually believe it in a way that I haven’t believed it with any of my other friends, I just know it to be true rather than hope it is true. I don’t know if our friendship is so different from others I’ve had because we’re older and as people mature they have different friendships and relationships with people or because we really are, in some form, soulmates.

I’ve never had a boyfriend so I can’t comment on feeling some kind of soulmate connection to them but I guess the same thing must be true of boyfriends that are true of all my past best friends, I hope to only ever have one boyfriend but if I do go through multiple boyfriends I guess I’ll have a nice time with them and they’ll be important to me but I think eventually I will meet a guy that I get on with better than any of the other guys that I’ve gone out with and maybe I would consider it fate that I had met that particular guy.

I know a handful of people who have got together and married and are still together now and happily married and I find those people very inspiring, they are so lucky that they have met someone who they really can spend the rest of their lives with. My Mum’s best friend – who’s been her best friend since they were 13 – has a girlfriend and they have been together for I think just over 20 years now and I find them a very inspiring couple because although they have the occasional bicker they are a really lovely couple and you can see how much they love and care for one another and I just hope that one day I will be lucky enough to meet someone that makes me feel like that and that I can spend so many years with.

I know I’m not properly talking about whether I believe in soulmates because I actually don’t know, I don’t tend to believe mythical things like this but life’s kind of dull if you don’t believe in something slightly out-of-the-ordinary isn’t it? I think I’m leaning more towards there is such a thing as a soulmate than that there isn’t, but I don’t think soulmates have to mean what they mean in cheesy romance novels I think a soulmate can be your best friend or even your sister, it doesn’t have to be a love interest to qualify as a soulmate in my opinion, just someone who knows you better than anyone else and who you know will always be there for you until the day you die, who supports you no matter what, I think that’s what a soulmate is. You might not have experienced what I have with my best friend, but if you have then you know what I’m talking about, if you haven’t then you will know what I’m talking about when you finally feel it. Although, the other thing is I don’t necessarily believe that everyone does meet their soulmate, but I also don’t think you should go looking for them in the way of fictitious stories either. If you are supposed to meet then fate will find a way of making you meet.

I think I also believe that fate exists, using the example of my best friend again, we met at a home-educated camp and my family only went to the camp because of our best friends of the time, so I think it was kind of fate that I was home-educated and then kind of fate that we met those friends that convinced us to go to the camp and kind of fate that my best friend attended the workshop I was running and then kind of fate that I got her e-mail address and we’ve kept in contact ever since. My best friend and I have had a few discussions where we’ve talked about whether we think we would have met if one or both of us hadn’t attended that camp the year that we did (because neither of us have attended again), and I think I’ve always said that the answer is yes, but I guess it’s impossible that one or both of us wouldn’t have attended because it was fate that made us attend in the first place.

I’m making this post sound way more crazy than I actually mean it too, I’m basically just rambling on pointlessly about nothing in particular! I think it’s a very interesting concept thinking about soulmates and fate. Here’s a question, do you consider believing in soulmates and fate as being linked to religion? Because I’m not religious but still kind of believe in soulmates and fate.

Anyway, I’ve really enjoyed writing this post and I hope you have enjoyed reading it! If you have any opinions or thoughts on soulmates and fate please leave a comment as I would love to know your thoughts on the whole idea, I also love responding to comments!

If you did enjoy this post please give it a like and if you aren’t already then follow me for more posts like this!

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

Leave a Reply

