5 Things We Should But Don’t Do

Hey guys, again I am so sorry for such a lack of posting this month! I promise I will get back on top of it in August… she says as she remembers she’s busy everyday until the 15th… but I will! Also, there are so many exciting things happening in August that I’m sure I’ll want to write about! It’s been so long and I’ve really missed writing posts so don’t worry that I’ve got bored and I’m going to stop doing it because that is so far from the truth! It’s just been very hard to actually muster up some energy in this never ending heat and going out in this weather saps every bit of energy from my body and my brain isn’t awake enough to write a post after that. Also, I’ve just been insanely busy (but in a good way).

Today’s post is one that I thought of earlier and it’s 5 things people tell us will improve our health that we say we’re going to do and then never do. I really hope you can relate to it and I know some of the things in this list you probably do or maybe you do all of it – if you do then good for you! But I’m sure at some point in your life you’ve said you will do it but haven’t for ages and ages until the day you finally decided to get your act together.

Anyway, here goes!

1. Get plenty of sleep – now I don’t know about any of you but I am always reading on advice pages, magazine pages, blog posts, Tumblr posts that one of the best things you can do for your health and to stay energised is to get plenty of sleep which is about 8 hours, I always say that I’m going to start having earlier nights so I can get enough sleep and also hopefully wake up earlier so I can get more done in my day, however, this never happens. Life always just gets in the way and then not only do I go to bed incredibly late but I also have to get up early. For example, during term time I am so busy with after-school activities that run late into the night that I usually don’t get into bed until about 11 and once in bed I usually use my laptop or read a book for about half an hour to and hour by which time it’s 11:30 or midnight and I can only get approximately 8 hours sleep but of course once I’ve put down my book or stopped using my laptop there’s the actual time it takes to fall asleep which can sometimes be a further half an hour if you’re really restless and have a lot on your mind. There’s also the possibility that you will wake up in the middle of night in random bursts of feeling completely wide awake and having to try and force yourself to go back to sleep. Or when you accidentally forget to turn your phone on silent and get woken up by some stupid company e-mailing you. Anyway, getting enough sleep never actually happens so I am always slightly sleep deprived.

2. Drink lots of water – Again, I don’t know about you but I am always reading this as health advice and it’s definitely important but I’m sure I’m not the only person that struggles to drink plenty of water, because if I were then there wouldn’t be loads of advice pages telling you to drink more water. I really struggle to drink enough water, obviously I drink water but I find it really hard to motivate myself to drink when I don’t actually feel thirsty. I also find it hard to drink water when I haven’t been exercising or using up my energy very much that day, for example, if I have a lazy day in bed with all the windows open and a fan on my body doesn’t get hot enough to need constant water and I’m not using up any energy requiring me to drink water to gain it again. It’s so weird though because it’s something that’s really necessary for our bodies and yet it’s so hard to provide it in the right amount. Please leave any advice on how to actually motivate yourself to drink more water in the comments, if you have any advice of course!

3. Turn off electric devices at least an hour before bed – This is always something I’m reading and I actually did it for about three days sometime last week and I don’t think I was doing it for long enough to properly notice the difference in my night routine but I did find that disconnecting from any kind of electric device an hour before bed made me a lot more productive before bed if nothing else, I always claim I don’t have time for specific things but it’s not actually true I just prioritise my time wrongly, for example, in those three days when I dedicated about an hour and a half before bed to doing something screen free I read an entire book and wrote about 10 pages of my journal which is something I hadn’t done in a long time and both reading and writing in my journal are really important to me but I just get too distracted with screens to actually do those things. Obviously if screens are important to you still use them, for example, this blog is very important to me and so is watching YouTube and I just find Google very useful so I’m not about to give up on technology but I did enjoy my very brief nights without screens, however I didn’t keep it up which is how it ended up on this list.

4. Workout 3-4 times a week – Haha! Now this one is definitely something I procrastinate with a lot and I always think of stupid excuses such as; I’m really tired today, I don’t have a sports bra, I don’t have the right clothes, I don’t know where to go, etc. but I do actually want to do this I just can’t be bothered and on days when I think “Oh maybe I should go for a run” I decide to do it another day and then it just never happens. And I know what I wrote is ‘workout’ but I consider running to fit into that category somewhere. I also want to do yoga and things like sit-ups and press-ups but there’s nowhere in my house big enough for things like that, I can’t afford a gym membership and there is no way I am doing those things in the park, it’s embarrassing enough going running let alone a whole workout routine! But working out is definitely something that is adviced you do often that people tell themselves they’re going to do eventually but just no today. Another excuse I use often is that I’m still ‘very young’ and that most people my age aren’t going running everyday, doing yoga for 15-30 minutes or doing sit-ups and press-ups everyday. That’s what I tell myself to make me feel better.

5. Eat more fruit and veg and less junk food – Junk food is something we are all guilty of eating at some stage in our lives and by junk food I mean chips, burgers, hot dogs, pizza, chicken nuggets, ice cream, chocolate, etc. and we all sometimes eat a little too much of it. Obviously it varies how bad it is and how much of it there is. For example, and just so you know I’m not trying to be all big-headed and I’m not trying to say I’m better than anyone else or showing off but vegan burgers, ice cream, pizza etc. is healthier than the non-vegan equivalents because the non-vegan versions have more fat in them than the vegan options so whilst me eating 8 burgers is probably healthy than a non-vegan eating 8 burgers it still isn’t the best thing to do to my body and although it’s healthier it still makes me feel bad and disgusting mentally for eating so much. I have admittedly been consuming more fruit lately as I have been making fruit milkshakes for a while now which has involved lots of different fruits and has been making me feel really good and it’s with no added sugar (let me know in the comments if you would like some amazing milkshake recipes!) but I don’t eat enough fruit and veg and I know this. There are some days when I eat quite a lot and I feel really good about myself, for example, the other day for lunch I had wholemeal bread with red pepper hummus and salad and I felt really healthy and proud of myself especially as I bought wholemeal bread instead of white bread which I prefer but it’s worse for you. So I’m slowly working my way towards it but the other thing is that at the moment I am not entirely in control of what I eat as I don’t pay for my food and mainly don’t cook or prepare my own food either but as I get older and become more in control of these things I will definitely change the way I eat a bit more. I’m not saying my Mum disapproves of how I eat or doesn’t want me eating certain things but there are other people in the family so she buys food for everyone and it’s not always possible to buy literally everything I might want as there are other people to consider and some of the food I just couldn’t eat fast enough before it went mouldy and rotten. So I always say I will eat better but I find it very hard to actually work towards that goal.

I really hope you enjoyed this post and could relate to it at least a little bit if not a lot! If you want to see more posts like this then please leave a comment down below of what specific topic I could focus on for my 5 things posts. I’m not saying it’s going to be a series but if you’re interested in seeing more posts like this I would be very happy to write them as it’s been great fun! Please leave any comments you have about this post and how relatable it was to you down below. If you enjoyed this post make sure to give it a like and follow me if you aren’t already!

If you ever want to get in contact with me outside of this blog my e-mail is –  aninspiredteen@gmail.com

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

7 thoughts on “5 Things We Should But Don’t Do

    1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! Haha true! I like to think that there are some people out there that can’t because it gives me a hope that one day I can be one of those people… #NotLikely… Haha! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

