5 Shows To Binge Watch

Hey guys, today I have decided to do another ‘5 things’ post just because I really enjoyed doing it yesterday and although I tend to include a lot of words in my posts they’re not all that challenging to write because I don’t have to put too much thought into them. Now I’m not trying to say I’m being lazy and not valuing these posts as highly as I value other posts of mine but I just don’t have the time or energy at the moment to write posts about the more important topics I want to discuss in the future on this blog.

Anyway, today’s post is going to be about 5 TV shows that I consider to be TOTALLY binge-watch-worthy. In fact, I could also title this post ‘my top 5 fav shows’ because I actually think they are! Just so you’re warned in advance they are pretty typical TV shows for a teen girl but I love them anyway and thought it might make an interesting post! Enjoy!

1. Nashvilleif you read my all time favourites post then you might already know that this is my favourite TV show! You’re also probably thinking that if it’s my favourite TV show of course I think it’s going to be totally binge-watch-worthy but actually that’s not true, there are plenty of TV shows I enjoy that I can only watch in short bursts because I either find them too complicated or too emotionally challenging to watch loads of all at one time. Just to give you some background, Nashville is about two country singers who are rivals/arch-enemies and as successful country singers they are both always competing for awards and No.1 in the charts etc. but as the show goes on and the more seasons there are the programme develops a lot more and there ends up being a much bigger cast all having equally important storylines, my Mum sometimes calls it a soap but I don’t actually think it’s like that at all – yes, it’s very dramatic but it’s never over-the-top dramatic in the way of things like EastEnders and Coronation Street and I fully accept that they are both very successful soaps but they are also incredibly over-the-top shows where people behave dramatically for reasons that don’t necessarily require quite so much drama. I also consider soaps to be of poorer acting quality than other TV shows but the acting in this, in my opinion, is very good! I didn’t like country music when I started watching the show and I still don’t try and find new country music but I am quite often listening to the Nashville soundtrack on Spotify. But it’s not all about the music and there is lots of drama that isn’t even about the music business. Another reason it made it into my binge-watching list is because I actually did start watching it by binge-watching it with my Mum, we started on a really hot summer’s day when it was way too hot to do anything else and we just watched it and watched it for about three days until we finished the first season and then we immediately went and bought the second. Since then and since the release of the third season there has been lots more binge-watching happening of this show because I absolutely love it and no matter how many times you’ve seen it, it’s always thrilling and exciting to watch.

2. Teen WolfI remember putting this in my May favourites post a couple of months ago (or maybe it was my June favourites) Anyway, I’m not going to lie and say I watched this because of it’s storyline, I actually started watching it because of one of the leading actors, Dylan O’Brien but it is also just my kind of programme, anything with vampires or werewolves you can count me in! But this programme exceeded my expectations, I don’t know if this improves with time but for the first two seasons and definitely the first you can see that they haven’t had all that much money to put into special effects or anything like that because to be honest the werewolves look like werewolves on TV in the 90s rather than werewolves on TV in 2016 (although the programme debuted in 2011), but if you can get past the special effects and properly take notice of the incredible acting, the chemistry between the actors and the relatability of the characters then you actually realise that it’s a really great TV show. I really suggest you go and watch this show which is available on both UK and American Netflix. I started watching this TV show last month after my final exam, specifically saved for after my final exam when I could reward myself and both season 1 and 2 are only 12 episodes long so it’s not all that hard to get through them very quickly but I got instantly hooked and just wanted to get to know the characters more and find out where the story was going. From the very first episode there is an overarching storyline that you’re just desperately waiting to solve. It’s really funny and there are some characters that are very sarcastic (coming from a very sarcastic family I can completely relate!), but not only that it also has the ability to be dead serious and really emotional in truly admirable ways.

3. Gossip GirlI told you it was a typical list! To be honest when I started watching Gossip Girl I wasn’t properly clear on what it was about nor was I clear on whether it sounded like something I was actually interested in watching, especially given that the picture provided on Netflix was of the entire cast lying in bed together in dresses and suits and it just didn’t seem like my kind of thing but I decided to watch it because it was one of those TV shows that everyone was always raving about in the way that people do – so I decided to watch it as it was free and I didn’t really see any reason not to. Again, I found this programme very surprising and much better than I ever expected it to be! Having watched a few cast interviews I know that some of the things they did were considered to be slightly pushing it and they were very good at reaching the limit of what they were actually allowed to do. I found that for the first couple of seasons I was really struggling my way through but once I reached season 3 I was properly addicted and obsessed, I was in love with all of the characters and could either relate to them, be really jealous of then or hate them with a passion which is much how the characters in the programme felt about each other. The storylines were really good and very interesting to watch and you were constantly hooked and desperately wanting to know what was going to happen next. I am so very happy that I started watching it and kept going with it for the first few seasons until it really got going. Also, it’s got a very big blogger storyline and so is very relatable in that aspect and also I found it to be very motivating and in fact it helped me decide to get a blog when I did.

4. The Vampire Diaries – I thought The Vampire Diaries sounded really cool before I was even old enough to watch it and after my obsession with Twilight I considered this to be my next step, but please don’t view it as the new Twilight because it’s so much better than that! With an amazing cast and amazing storylines this show is a must watch! Again the characters are incredibly relatable and the show just has you incredibly hooked. Obviously there is the typical vampire/human romance and there’s a constant will they won’t they thing going on between characters and there’s also the opportunity to be on a certain ‘team’ in the love triangle which I always love in programmes like this to be honest, it’s part of the pleasure of watching it! Another reason why I like it is because it’s not a typical girly programme, they add the violence and the action in as well so I don’t watch it thinking of how sexist it is because it’s not. There are very strong female leads with strong feminine messages, there are also gay characters which always makes me restore a little bit more faith back into humanity. But it does have some ‘more girly’ bits but it just really adds something to it and you’ve got to always have a few girly moments in programmes like this. Go and watch it if you haven’t already, I promise it won’t let you down! There’s something in it for everybody and it is completely binge-worthy and addictive!

5. How To Get Away With Murder – I have raved about this programme quite a lot on my blog already but I’m going to rave about it again. Personally I don’t think the characters are all that likeable or all that relatable or I don’t find them relatable at least. But amazingly in this TV show it doesn’t seem to matter because there is so much going on that you don’t even properly think about it. How To Get Away With Murder is about 5 law students who end up getting stuck in the middle of a murder. Every episode has it’s own stand alone case but it’s also got an overarching mystery going on and I just absolutely love it. From the first episode I was completely hooked and addicted and I have re-watched it about 5 times since the original watching of it and it doesn’t matter how many times I watch it there are still some unexpected things that happen or not unexpected but things that still have you on the edge of your seat and that make your heart beat a little faster. Not only is it just a truly great TV show but it’s also really interesting and educational, or it was to me, it really developed an interest in law within me that I then pursued and I’m so glad I did because I found it so interesting so definitely consider giving it a try!

And that’s it for this post, if you have seen any of the programmes mentioned above or you’re going to go and check them out after reading this post then please let me know in the comments, as always I love reading and responding!

If you enjoyed this post please give it a like and follow me if you aren’t already!

If you want to get in contact with me outside of this blog then you can do so by e-mailing me – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

21 thoughts on “5 Shows To Binge Watch

  1. i absolutely LOVE how to get away with murder!! i just finished it – have you watched season 2 or 3? i cant find it anywhere!!! i have also been meaning to get into teen wolf AND vampire diaries but haven’t found the motivation – after reading this i think i defo will!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I’m so glad to hear that, as I love it too!! I haven’t watched S2 yet because it’s currently only available in the US but I am hopeful it will become available in the UK soon and S3 is currently being filmed so probably won’t be out for another year. That’s so cool – when you do watch them make sure to come back on here and let me know what you thought; or write a blog post about them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my god yes! You must! And then you have to tell me all about your experience because I’ve never really met anyone else who has watched it so I can’t share my undying love for it with them – it really is a great show and I don’t think you’ll regret it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I’m so glad!! I think I started watching it the day it went on UK Netflix and finished it pretty quickly although not in two days… maybe a week? But I think I was busy in the daytime so kind of stayed up until late watching it and finished it that way 🙂 Really want S2 in the UK now though… Who’s your favourite character?! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Connor is my favourite character by far! I think everyone is really talented and Viola Davis is just incredible but I think Connor’s the only likeable character really…? Maybe not the most interesting of all the characters but I think he’s the most likeable. It’s intriguing that you’ve said Frank, what makes him one of your favourites? Is it the mystery surrounding him or something else? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! I was slightly disappointed when I found out who Gossip Girl was though… *not mentioning them by name in an attempt not to destroy it for any readers who are watching it but don’t yet know…*, I thought it was kind of predictable closer to the end and maybe the author of the books didn’t know who she wanted Gossip Girl to be and then when it came to it she just made a fast, pressured decision rather than thinking about how to make it more jaw-dropping and clever… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t want to cry I was just kind of annoyed… I too had figured it out but mostly through Google because my sister and I were debating whether Serena had ever gone out with a guy called Isaac and so I decided to look it up but whilst typing out what I wanted to search I wrote ‘Gossip Girl Is’ and then it told me because I was going to follow the ‘Is’ with a ‘aac’ but Google told me in the suggestions before I had the time… So glad about Blair and Chuck though ❤ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

