Summer Bucket List Review 2016

Hey guys, so some of you may know that back in June I wrote a summer bucket list , if you weren’t aware then you can go and check it out here. Basically this post is going to be me reviewing my summer bucket list and how well I did at achieving it all.

Let’s get right into it!

  • Start running everyday – I’m going to be honest with you, I didn’t run at all this summer (maybe once) but for good reasons! I have thought about running every day but realised that it probably wasn’t something I should be doing without a sports bra and I just never got round to buying one. There was also the fact that it was insanely hot for lots of the summer and I felt like if I went running I would probably die. But in my defence I did find myself doing a lot of fitness things anyway, such as dance and working out. For fun ways to get fit go and check out my post!
  • Cook more things – I didn’t do too much cooking this summer as I was always so busy my diet kind of consisted of pasta and things from the freezer that I could quickly throw in the oven for 15 minutes. However, I have done quite a bit of cake baking. I made many birthday cakes all of which were delicious and all of which took a lot of work. I’m cooking another cake tomorrow so that will be more cooking. When I originally wrote this down I did mean more healthy vegetable based cooking but I will slowly build up to that – I really struggle with recipe books is the only issue, I quite often have to adapt recipes so that they suit me and I find that really difficult.
  •   Blog everyday – You probably all know that I completely failed at this and I guess I was quite ambitious with putting this on my list but I thought that it would really motivate me to keep writing posts even with a busy schedule, but I guess I never properly realised how busy my schedule was going to be. The thing is if I had gone on holiday then I would have kept up blogging for the entire summer it’s only because I was busy with work experience and drama rehearsals that I didn’t get the opportunity to keep writing. I have this dream that one day I can write a blog post for you guys whilst sitting in Paris. It will happen.
  • Take more photographs – I am so happy to say that I actually completed this and I think the main reason is because I got a new phone and it was really easy to take photos with it and the camera was so much better than the camera on my old phone. I also got Instagram for personal use and that was kind of motivating for me as I had been wanting Instagram for ages but couldn’t get it with my old phone. So yes, I have been taking loads more photos this summer and I’m really pleased with myself for it because I absolutely love taking photos and framing them correctly etc.
  • Have at least three sleepovers – Unfortunately I didn’t get the opportunity to have three sleepovers although I tried desperately to arrange some with my best friend all summer we only had one – it was amazing though! I feel happy with only having had one sleepover though, especially given how busy my schedule was, I feel like if I had added anything else to my schedule (especially things involving late nights) I would just end up unhealthily tired. And the one sleepover I had was really, really good!
  • Sort out my garden – Not gonna lie, my garden isn’t as pretty as it could be, it’s not overly terrible, it just doesn’t look how I one day hope it will look. I’m quite a big fan of pretty flowers and lovely wood stained furniture, our garden does have furniture but a bit more grass and less flowers than I want at the moment – it does have some lovely trees that blossom beautifully though! I didn’t overly work on the garden over the summer because the weather has been so freakish; one day it’s been too hot to even dare going outside and other days it’s been pouring down with rain – neither or which are good days for gardening. I did dedicate an entire Sunday to doing the garden with some friends and family members mid-August though and we got loads done and so much more than I ever imagined we would and it’s definitely getting there! Hopefully in the next couple of months to come when it’s not too hot but not too cold I can get it finished (hopefully).
  • Sort through all the junk and reorganise my room – I think I did this really soon after writing my summer bucket list so I can’t specifically remember how it went. I definitely have my room organised in a way that I’m happy with and I did clear out a lot of my junk – including a clutter corner full of paper shredding which has been sitting in the corner of my bedroom for literally about five years so I was really pleased with myself for that. I took some stuff to the charity shop and I was pleased with myself for that too, in this area I feel I did pretty well this summer!
  • Give up Netflix for a month – It’s very easy to say you’re going to do something, it’s also very easy to think something is a good idea when actually it’s not a good idea at all. This was one of those occasions. Although, I didn’t use Netflix half as much as I thought I was going to this summer – I think it’s because of how busy I was. I more often than not watch Netflix when I’m going to sleep as that’s really my only opportunity. I also don’t generally like watching TV during the day because I always feel like there is so much more that I could be doing; such as writing a blog post or doing some actual revision etc. and TV just acts as a distraction – I also get bored of TV pretty quickly so yeah, I didn’t give it up but I certainly wasn’t as addicted as I thought I would be this summer.
  • Practise for my music exam – I was doing so well with this for the first couple of weeks of the summer and I practised for an hour or more every day and was feeling really good about myself and then everything else started happening and my music practice stopped being quite a big priority and so my practise really suffered. I’m going to pick it up again on Monday and really work for it up until April when my actual exam is because at the end of the day it’s grade 8 and I really don’t want to muck it up, but I’m one of those people who don’t really think how serious it is to not revise/practice until it gets to about a month before and then I start to panic but I know I can’t do that with this exam so I’m going to actual work harder for it.
  • Do work experience – I did do this! And I’m so pleased that I did because it was a really great experience and I really enjoyed it! I did two lots of work experience, one at my local theatre and the other doing some filming at a festival and that was really fun and I feel like I learnt a lot from it! I’m proud of myself for doing two lots of work experience along with everything else that I’ve been doing this summer! I feel like it’s a real achievement, especially given that I’m trying to build up my CV at the moment.
  • Read more – I feel like I did do this, not hugely but I certainly read a lot more than I have been doing in the past months and definitely prioritising it over TV which is something I haven’t been doing for a while. I feel like my reading drags a bit if I’ve been reading books that aren’t all that good lately, even once I’ve finished a bad book I feel like because it was bad it doesn’t really motivate me to start reading another book and I’m always really surprised when it turns out that the book I’m reading actually is a good book, even though the majority of the books I read are, in fact, good.
  • Save some money – I feel like I didn’t do too well with this, I was planning on having about £20-30 at the end of summer but then things popped up that were insanely reduced and not possible to say no to, I had a friend round and spent money that I didn’t strictly need to on biscuits, I bought a lipstick that wasn’t necessary but that I fell in love with and then I bought my sister a little gift today and I also pre-ordered a book and now I have almost no money left; but I feel okay with that because I don’t feel like I have wasted the money that I spent, I don’t look back on it and regret buying a particular item, I’m pretty happy with the money I’ve spent and how I’ve spent it so I consider that an achievement, not the achievement I was expecting but still an achievement.
  • Start my Gold Arts Award – I did start my gold arts award and I feel like I have achieved so much with it and done loads more than I thought I would! I’ve done some of the work experience, I’ve started creating my arts piece, I’ve sent some e-mails, I’ve had meetings. To be honest, I thought I was going to achieve this when writing it down because I knew that I was going for a meeting about it with the group I’m doing it with but I never knew I would do this quantity of work – I still need to actually start putting some of my evidence in my portfolio but I’m still doing really well, I have all the evidence stored in different places but I just need to put it all in the right sections of my portfolio.
  • Practise singing – I didn’t do this a huge amount, I did sing a couple of songs (I even sang a duet with my sister a couple of times and I have to admit it sounded pretty good!) and recorded myself and I played the accompaniment but I didn’t do a huge amount of singing. I started rehearsals for a musical production I’m in and I guess that counts as me practising singing because it’s only in the rehearsal stages at the moment. I don’t feel confident yet though and I was really hoping that I would feel confident singing in front of people by the end of the summer but that hasn’t happened. Oh well. I think I’ve done this enough to tick it off though!
  • Use my Sundays more wisely – I definitely did this and every Sunday that I did this I gave myself a little pat on the back for actually achieving it as I really didn’t think that I was going to, if I’m honest with you! I was so set in the routine of doing nothing on Sundays, lying around procrastinating until it got to the end of the day and I realised that there was no point in actually trying to do something with my day but I found that during this summer I did wake up and get up, I did things that were a good use of my time such as get out in the garden, work on my fitness, tidy and clean the house and I am just so pleased that I did this because it made me feel so much better about Sundays! I really hate lazy days where I don’t do anything because they just make me feel really horrible and disgusting and like I’ve wasted a perfectly good day doing absolutely nothing of use and when I look back on my childhood in the future what am I going to remember about all the Sundays I’ve experienced in my life? Probably not a lot. I always try and get out as much as I can, even if it’s quickly popping to the shops because it makes me feel like I’ve actually done something of relevance in my day.
  • Be more spontaneous – I wanted to do this but the opportunity to be spontaneous never really arose, I know obviously every moment in life is a chance to be spontaneous but I feel like at the age I am now it’s very hard to be spontaneous and there does kind of need to be a moment where you can be spontaneous. When I’m older and I have my own house and my own money and a car etc. I will have the opportunity to be a bit more spontaneous because I could decide to random go somewhere and actually be able to pay to go there (I don’t mean like going on holiday but more like getting admittance into a tourist attraction etc.) or I could spontaneously decide to go and have a cup of coffee in a café and then spend an hour reading in the library for example but I can’t do things like that at this stage in my life, so as much as I would have liked to, it just wasn’t possible.
  • Think less about objects – I feel like I’ve really overcome my obsession and desire for objects over the summer, I think when I wrote my summer bucket list I was going through a particular stage of thinking about objects and having them dominate my thoughts and it was kind of consuming and destroying my thoughts in a way that I didn’t want it to and I was literally just always browsing the internet for things to buy and thinking of things I could sell in order to buy more objects and I was thinking about what I wanted for my birthday and maybe even for Christmas and over the summer all of those thoughts have gone away. Without trying to sound too ridiculous I feel like I have really matured this summer and started thinking about things that really matter, or at least I have stopped thinking too strongly about things that really don’t matter and I’m pleased with where I am in this area. I feel like I’ve properly come to terms with what is worth money to me and what I feel is important for me to have in my life etc. I feel like I’m in a really healthy place mentally at the moment. I never feel like I am in an unhealthy place mentally particular but when I’m thinking about objects etc. I never feel mentally as healthy as I do when those things aren’t dominating my thoughts.

And there we have it! My summer bucket list review! I really hope you liked it and were interested to know how my summer went and how successful I was with ticking off the items on my bucket list. If you have any comments regarding this post please feel free to leave them below! Also, if you have written a similar post talking about the success of your summer bucket list please leave a link in the comments as I would love to read it!

If you did enjoy this post please make sure to give it a like and if you aren’t following me already then please feel free – I would really appreciate it!

Lastly, if you ever want to get in contact my e-mail is – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

 

11 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List Review 2016

    1. Thank you! Haha! I’m sure you did things of value you just didn’t view them that way! I always find that I do way more things of value when I really think about it, it’s because at the end of the summer you only remember the days where you did nothing because apparently it’s human nature to feel bad about yourself and it sucks! But that’s the way it is! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well that’s good! I think the thing is everyone compares their summer to everyone else’s too much – for some people, summer is a break, for me it’s an opportunity when I’m not busy with other activities to get things done – but that’s just me. Not everyone wants a summer like that. Haha! Yes, it really is! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow that’s quite a bucket list you’ve got there! I hope you got most (if not all) of those things done! I would not be able to write out such a list, because I know that I would have no hope of getting through the entire list….So, props to you!!! 😀

    Another reason why I’m commenting on here is because I am the Slikerin Head of House for the Blogwarts event which you have signed up for, and I wanted to know if you will still be participating 🙂
    We completed our first tasks, and are expecting the results today. The 2nd task will also be announced, and we could really use all the help we can get. Only 3 of us have been really active! And it hurts to see Slikerin struggling like this.

    If you find that you no longer have time or the interest, please let me know! I won’t be mad! I’m just trying to get a headcount on all of the Slikerins who were sorted and will be participating! 🙂 Here are the links you will need if you do intend to participate:

    https://averyawkwardblog.wordpress.com
    http://blogwarts.boards.net

    Also, please disregard this if you HAVE been active! I haven’t matched the usernames up to the bloggers quite yet!

    Thanks and I hope to see you around! xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

