“We Are What We Eat”

Hey guys, so the other day I was sitting on the bus and suddenly I remembered that some people say “you are what you eat” and I just sat there and contemplated that for a little while and came to a conclusion. I thought it would make an interesting blog post because there are lots of people who dislike their weight or their body and go on diets to help them lose weight and feel better about themselves, however, I also feel like there are some people who are already naturally skinny who are avoiding eating certain foods because they think it will immediately make them fat.

I think our definition of fat is way too wide, there are larger people but that doesn’t make them fat. There are also slimmer people but that doesn’t make them unhealthily skinny. The thing I think most people don’t realise is that everybody has a different body shape, literally every single person in the entire world has a different body shape to the next, bodies are completely unique and no one person looks the same as another. There are a couple of girls I know who are both really, really tall and really, really skinny and sometimes I look at them and think that they must be unhealthily skinny because they really are skinny but then I realise how ridiculous it is to think that and they’re perfectly healthy it’s just how their bodies work. Comparing myself to these girls that I know maybe people would consider me fat because I’m nowhere near as skinny as them but I am skinnier than lots of other people I know, but that doesn’t make them fat either. This isn’t a post where I talk about how beautiful and slim I am though, I’m just using myself as a general comparison. I actually think there is nothing wrong with being slightly wide, I personally would prefer it if I was a little bit wider, whilst I’m not unhealthily skinny I feel like I’m completely shapeless and boring. A bit like a pencil.

But the main point of this blog post is to talk about the saying “we are what we eat.” I don’t think this is true and I think it’s sayings like these that make people go on unhealthy diets of only juice or only salad or whatever. You’ve just got to be sensible with your food, I don’t think eating one burger at the weekend is going to make you fat, nor is eating 20 chicken nuggets (although it might not be good for you). People just need to chill with food I feel, if they want to eat something they should eat it but they should also think about what’s a healthy amount of a particular thing to consume, but if they decide to consume that then it’s their choice. I can understand the mental feelings behind eating food, such as, if you’re really healthy and eat loads of vegetable based lunches and dinners and then one night you decide to get some chips from the chip shop that’s fine, but I know that because they eat healthy and then have that thing they’re craving they feel disgusting because of eating it but I think that’s unnecessary, if your body is craving it then I don’t see why you shouldn’t eat it. As long as your balancing out a good diet a few unhealthy things here and there doesn’t make you a bad person nor does it make you fat.

You also have to think about your body shape and how your body naturally works. I always have people say to me that I’m just naturally so skinny and they wish they were, but instead they have to go on loads of diets to be skinny. This is unnecessary. If your body is naturally a particular shape even if you eat a good diet there is no need to change your diet to make yourself skinnier, your body is the way it is for a reason. Don’t change who you are.

Of course I’m not saying it’s quite as easy as just changing your mindset because it can be hard when you feel like you’re not as skinny as other people and really you should be as skinny as them, but they’re healthy being that skinny and your body wouldn’t be healthy being that skinny if it is not it’s natural state.

Another important thing is not to change who you are to please others, if you feel like you’re overweight or you want to get skinnier find a way to do it healthily, don’t just decide one day that you’re only going to eat proper meals 2/7 days a week and the other days you’re going to drink juice and eat salad because that’s not a healthy way to live, let alone lose weight. If your body is used to a lot of unhealthy food, suddenly cutting it all out of your diet will be unhealthy because your body will be hungry 24/7. Exercise is also important, exercise is a normal activity for humans and it’s something we all need to do to remain at top form, don’t cut out exercise and eat salad instead because this will not give you the results you need. You need to eat healthy, nutricious food but you also need to exercise. It can’t be either, or, it has to be both. But you can also eat something unhealthy if you feel like it, eating one chocolate bar a week is not going to kill you, if it pleases you in the moment there’s no need to feel bad about it later.

I really hope you enjoyed this blog post or could relate to it in some way. If you have anything to add please leave a comment down below as I would love reading your opinions on it!

Remember to like this post and follow me if you aren’t already!

If there is anything else you would like to contact me about you can do so by e-mailing me – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

COLLAB/GUEST POST OPPORTUNITY! I am currently planning out my Blogmas schedule and would really like it if some of you would get involved – if you would like to do a Christmas collab or guest post with/for me then please get in touch using my e-mail – aninspiredteen@gmail.com with the subject being ‘Blogmas posts’

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr

4 thoughts on ““We Are What We Eat”

  1. This is very much my point of view as well. Food is food, and there are so many guidelines that slim down the things that you may or may not eat. having some junk food is part of being healthy, so I don’t see why it’s such a taboo! x Phia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this comment! I’m so glad you agree with me – I felt like writing about this topic was a bit of a gamble because I didn’t know how people would react and I thought it was possible people might view it as insulting even though that isn’t what I was trying to be.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

