October Favourites – Part 1

Hey guys, so firstly you may have noticed my absence last week, I would like to apologise but with performances and being ill I got no time to sit down and write a post. I really need to start scheduling posts but with studying and everything else going on I struggle to write posts anyway, let alone schedule them. Secondly, you may notice that I didn’t do a September favourites post and you know how much I love doing monthly favourites posts, the reason is that I didn’t really experiment with any new books, TV shows or products so there was nothing really to write about and I kept putting it off convincing myself that I was going to write at least something and there must have been a few interesting or new things that I tried but I’ve recently come to the conclusion that it’s pointless writing a post where I have nothing really to say and no one will be interested in it just for the sake of having written consecutive monthly favourites posts. However, I have slightly made up for not writing a September favourites by having so many new things experienced in October that I’m going to seperate the post into two parts otherwise it will just be too long and get quite boring.

First things first,

TV SHOWS:

AwkwardI started watching this TV show by chance just as something to watch in the evening, I knew that it wouldn’t take up too much concentration as it was only a light comedy, I found it pleasantly surprising and oddly relatable. I haven’t watched that many episodes I have to admit but from a very early stage it is funny and very engaging. The main character is a high school student that just lives a very clumsy and awkward life – something I can hugely relate to. She’s always mis-reading people’s behaviour and just generally doing things to humiliate herself. She’s also a blogger!

BetweenAgain, I have to admit I haven’t watched that many episodes but from the first few minutes of the first episode I was completely hooked! The show is about a small town who’s population very soon starts going down, this is due to all people over the age of 21 suddenly and unexplainably dying. The town then gets put into lockdown due to there being a virus/disease spreading that no one understands. I believe the TV series follows the people in the town trying to figure out what’s going on and I have a hunch that there’s talk of some kind of government secret involvement that they’re not aware of.

Bad Education season 3I love this TV show! The characters are all really funny, I love how it takes place in a school and is just about all the ridiculous mayhem that the teenagers cause but is also about all the stupid things that Alfie (Jack Whitehall) does as the history teacher. It also has a wide range of different characters from different areas of life and is very diverse but doesn’t do it in an offensive way.

How To Get Away With Murder season 2The moment you’ve all been waiting for! Season 2 of How To Get Away With Murder has now been added to Netflix – or it was certainly the moment I was waiting for. If you haven’t seen the first season then you should definitely go and watch it; it’s one of the greatest, most thrilling and exciting TV shows I’ve ever watched, the characters are really interesting and the storylines are surprising and unique. If you have watched the first season then the second season is definitely worth the time and effort! With amazing new twists and truths told you’re in for a bumpy ride! There is also a very intriguing and unexpected development in some of the characters and some of the characters you never imagined liking turn out to be some of the best.

YOUTUBERS:

I have spent a crazy amount of time on YouTube this month watching so many different channels of so many different genres, below I am going to list the channels that I have most watched this month and a little bit about why I enjoy watching their videos.

Jim ChapmanI really love watching Jim’s videos as I feel like he is a very positive and cheerful person and those vibes always pass onto me for some reason. He’s always very kind in his videos even when he’s making videos when there’s no reason for him to be kind – for example, the videos I most enjoyed watching of his this month was his ‘reacting to hate’ videos and the reason I enjoyed them over some of the other reacting to hate videos that you see out there is because he doesn’t be horrible to them he just laughs it off and tells them that they’re being ridiculous (which they are). He also never really swears or makes content which might be inappropriate to some audiences whereas other YouTubers I watch sometimes do, which is fine as they have a wide audience with a big age range but at times I feel like some YouTubers need to take it down a little bit.

Study With JessThis has definitely been the most useful channel that I’ve watched this month, Jess’ channel is a study/exam based channel and her videos are entirely about study/revision tips, the best ways to remember information fast, how to boost your grades, how to organise study time and social/fun time. She did some great videos on apps and websites that are useful to assist your student life. I literally spent hours on her channel earlier on in the month and took loads of great tips and tricks away from it which I have been using on a daily basis and it’s really helped me stay motivated and gets loads done, so I would definitely recommend checking out her channel.

MoreMarcusI’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned Marcus’ main channel in a favourites post before but there is slightly different content on his ‘MoreMarcus’ channel. There are quite a few random yet interesting and unique videos which are very entertaining to watch and they also tend to be quite short which is a good thing if you have 10-15 minutes of time to kill before leaving the house. He has some good relatable rants on there and his ‘try not to laugh’ videos are always really great to watch.

Jack MaynardI have my sister to thank for getting me into Jack Maynard, she mentioned earlier on in the month that she liked Jack’ s videos and although I knew who he was (and not just because he’s Conor Maynard’s brother – he is his own person btw) I had never really had all that much of an interest, more through laziness rather than anything else. But after my sister mentioned it, one day when I was online I decided “why the hell not?” and have been watching loads of his videos ever since, I would probably say that he is my most watched YouTuber of October. The videos that have particularly stood out to me that I watched this month were his ‘exposing his social media accounts’ videos.

Okay, the last topic for Part 1 of my October favourites is…

FOOD:

I’ve discovered a surprising amount of new foods this month that I would like to share with you.

Mint flavoured Oreosneed I say anything more? Basically, they are Oreo biscuits with mint flavouring in the middle instead of cream. However, the mint tastes exactly like Aero mint, so it’s like having an Aero mint chocolate bar and Oreos in one – it’s one of the best things I’ve tasted in a long time. The extra bonus being that they’re completely vegan!

Strawberry Cheesecake flavoured OreosThese ones claim they’re limited edition but I hope they keep them around for longer because they are absolutely amazing, they taste like cheap shop bought milkshakes that you can buy and make yourself (you know, like the powder ones?) but in the best way, but at the same time of course they taste like Oreos. They are just amazing, and the middle of the biscuit is a very satisfying colour. Again, 100% vegan.

Freedom MallowsNow you may be thinking that I’ve forgotten to add on the ‘Marsh’ in marshmallows but you are wrong, in fact, Freedom Mallows is the name of the company that make vegan marshmallows – my latest (and most exciting) vegan discovery. Honestly, they are amazing! Although I am supposed to have been vegetarian my whole life when I was younger I did go through a stage of not really thinking of gelatine as ‘meat’ and therefore deciding that it wasn’t immoral to eat sweets that contained that ingredient, however, now I’ve got older I’ve changed my opinion (or rather, come to my senses) and decided that I never really thought that but just used it as an excuse to not have a guilty conscience (terrible, I know), so, because of my brief gelatine-eating stage I know what ‘real’ marshmallows taste like and I have to say that I honestly can’t tell a difference between the two – other than size and shape they taste completely the same (but it has been quite a while since I had gelatine marshmallows). I really suggest, if you’re vegan (or even not vegan) and you love/loved marshmallows (before going vegan) then you go out and buy these. They come in normal size form – however don’t be disappointed when they’re not as big as the usual, easy-to-buy marshmallows, they are quite small but you get a decent amount in a packet. You can also get them in mini form which I haven’t yet had the opportunity of trying so I can’t pass judgement but I imagine that they will be perfect for the top of hot chocolates or cupcakes etc.

And there we have it, that concludes the end of Part 1 of my October favourites post. If you enjoyed it I really hope you will read part 2 (which will be up this week or at the latest, next week). Please remember to like and follow if you haven’t already – I really appreciate it!

Leave a comment below with your favourite things from October or leave a link with your own favourites post as I find them very inspiring to read! I am also currently planning my Blogmas post schedule so if you have any ideas for posts you hope to see in December related (but not exclusive) to Christmas and New Years please feel free to leave them in the comments below and I will add them to my list!

If you wish to contact me for any other reason you can do so using my e-mail – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

That’s all for now!

Inspired Teen 🙂

4 thoughts on “October Favourites – Part 1

Leave a Reply

