Never Believed In Santa

Hey guys, it’s Day 3 of BLOGMAS! Does anyone else feel like it’s much later than that? I can’t believe this will only be my second official Blogmas post… anyway, today’s post is going to be about Santa and why I never believed in him. My apologies if my Blogmas is slightly too depressing for you… I promise it’s going to get more festive and cheerful later on.

I would just like to say before getting into this post that I do not intend on offending anyone with this post, I have nothing against people believing in Santa and do not wish to disvalue your upbringing or the memories you may have of believing in Santa, everyone is different and entitled to their own beliefs, opinions and memories. I am not trying to take anything away from you, I’m just talking from my own experiences of Christmas and growing up and my Mum’s reasoning for not telling me about Santa.

We all know that Santa is a big part of Christmas, there are grotto’s everywhere where children can go and tell Santa what they want for Christmas, children get excited and wait up for him on Christmas Eve, it’s a very exciting thing for children. They believe that without him they wouldn’t get anything on Christmas day.

My Mum never told me or my siblings about the existence of Santa because she thought that it would confuse us about what was going on in the world, or make us view the world in a slightly different way to how we should – I will explain in slightly more detail later on in the post. She also didn’t want to scare us because from her own experience; when she was younger she found the idea of Santa quite scary – if he could come down our chimney why couldn’t people that were going to hurt us come down our chimney? I mean let’s face it, that kind of makes logical sense. It’s also not mathematically possible for one man to travel round the whole world handing out presents to all the households in just one night. Also, I don’t have a fireplace… so yes, he could come down our chimney but he would be met with a brick wall…

The reason it would be incorrect because of what was going on in the world is because it alters the truth of society. It makes us think that everyone, all over the world, is receiving wonderful presents just like we are. The reason this came about is because my great-grandma when she was a little girl asked Santa for a dollhouse, her enemy at school also asked for a dollhouse. Come Christmas day her enemy got the dollhouse she’d wanted and my great-grandma didn’t, instead she got a bouncy ball – they’re not really comparable, are they? My great-grandma was sad and didn’t understand why Santa liked her enemy best and why her enemy got the gift she asked Santa for and she didn’t. The actual truth was that her enemy at school came from a rich family and my great-grandma didn’t – the bouncy ball was all her parents could afford. When I heard this story I was really sad and completely understood how being told Santa exists is damaging, not in all cases, but in some. Not only did my great-grandma end up with a present that wasn’t what she asked for but people all over the world weren’t getting what they had asked for, because people didn’t have the money. I very much think that at Christmas time everyone with the money to do so is spending so much time, effort and money on Christmas presents, Christmas dinners, trees, decorations etc. that they forget that there are people in the world much less fortunate, people that don’t even have enough to eat and drink every single day of their lives, that don’t have shelter or appropriate clothing and all these people are concerned about is what to get their niece for Christmas. Now, I’m not going to get too distracted on this topic because I have another post on this topic coming up in the month. But I think it’s really important that children understand that not everyone is as lucky as they are, of course they can believe in Santa but I think there needs to be more awareness on poverty and I don’t think Santa helps raise awareness.

Anyway, that’s why I never believed in Santa, I don’t wish that I had believed in Santa but I’m more than happy that other people do. As I said before, I didn’t intend for this post to offend or upset anyone or disvalue your parents decision to tell you about Santa – or your decision to tell someone about Santa and I would never, ever take away someone’s belief of Santa by telling them it was a lie and that he didn’t exist, that’s the parents’ job.

I hope you found this post insightful, if you were never told about Santa please leave a comment down below! If you were told about Santa please leave your comments down below! If you enjoyed this post please make sure to give it a like and follow me if you aren’t already for many more Blogmas posts throughout the month.

If you wish to get in touch you can do so using my e-mail address – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

Merry Christmas!

Inspired Teen 🙂

Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram

3 thoughts on “Never Believed In Santa

  1. This was an interesting insight into a reason I hadn’t really considered about when thinking about believing or not believing in Santa. I never believed in Santa because I didn’t find it rational/logical enough but I tried to keep the magic surrounding it for people who did such as younger toddlers as it brought a smile to their face, and at that age they appreciated anything from santa in a way.

    Like

    1. Yeah, logic was another reason why my Mum didn’t believe in Santa. I don’t know if the logic ever would have come into it for me because I’m pretty oblivious when it comes to things like that… :/ of course! You mustn’t take the enjoyment and happiness away from children! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

