We Choose Our Family

Hey guys, I am currently sitting on my bed listening to Christmas Hits… I couldn’t help it! I am more excited for this Christmas than I have been in a long time… maybe it’s something to do with Blogmas… I don’t know.

Anyway, today I am going to write a somewhat deep post, it’s a well known thing that at Christmas time it’s supposed to bring everyone together, a time for sharing etc. and I understand that there are some people out there who aren’t lucky enough to have a family or aren’t lucky enough to be close with their family so I decided to write this post to tell those people, out in the world, whoever they may be that it’s okay. We get to choose our family.

As someone who doesn’t have a close relationship with either side of my extended family I have a slight understanding of how it feels to not have a lot of people to celebrate Christmas with but one of the things that’s important is that it won’t always be like this – you’ll grow up and you’ll end up with a family and if you have siblings they’ll have a family and then your family will grow and there will be more people to celebrate with.

The second thing to remember is that we can choose our family, we’re not obliged to spend our Christmas with our family just because they are related to us. For example, we have some really close family friends who are basically like family to me, I’m closer to them than I am to some of my actual family and it’s really nice, we have a Christmas dinner every single year and lots of traditions that take place during that time. My best friend and I are planning to celebrate together around Christmas, my Mum’s boyfriend is celebrating Christmas with us and we’re celebrating with some of his family, my siblings and I will be celebrating with my Dad and his fiance.

So, as you can see, it doesn’t have to be people actually related to you and there will always be added people to your ‘family’, it’s all about who you consider to be your family, how you want to celebrate this festive season. Obviously there are high expectations that people spend Christmas with their family and extended family etc. and sometimes it does get to me that I don’t have a typically ‘normal’ Christmas but at the same time I am happy with how I celebrate Christmas.

You have to celebrate how you want to celebrate Christmas, make the best of the situation you’re in. Please think of the people who aren’t as fortunate as you, who are spending Christmas on the streets or in poverty. We mustn’t forget the people in need whilst celebrating this holiday. They will always be there, they are still important. Try to do something for them over this festive period.

That’s it for this post, I hope you could connect with this post and it opened your eyes a little bit. Please leave a comment down below letting me know who it is you’re spending your Christmas with 🙂 Make sure to like this post if you enjoyed it and to follow me for more posts throughout Blogmas and in the new year!

If you wish to get in touch you can do so using my e-mail – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

Merry Christmas!

Inspired Teen 🙂

Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram

2 thoughts on “We Choose Our Family

  1. This was honestly such a thoughtful post. And you’re 100% right. Christmas doesn’t have to be with our blood family. We choose our family.
    This post really made me more aware and really want to reach out to more people this christmas. Because we can never quite tell when someone is feeling alone and left out. And I’d hate for them to feel that way. Especially on christmas.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! It means so much to hear you say that, I’ve been so worried that it isn’t ‘cheerful’ enough to make it into Blogmas but obviously part of the point was to show that Christmas isn’t cheerful for everyone. I’m so glad this post made you aware and made you think about new things or things in a deeper was, it’s so great to hear you say that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

