My Christmas Bucket List

Hey guys, I know this post is quite a late one, as in, I’m publishing it quite late in the day but I literally had no motivation to write it earlier on in the day as I was A) really tired as I have a bit of a cold and B) was caught up reading.

I have decided that now we are getting quite late into the month that I will publish a Christmas Bucket List for you, I have seen a number of people doing this on their blogs as part of Blogmas and being someone who will find any excuse to write a Bucket List (you can find my life-long one here) I decided I would publish the things I want to do this Christmas. Some of them are quite typical things that go with Christmas and some are more unique, or just something I’ve never done around Christmas time.

Let’s get right into it!

Make Gingerbread Men – This is something I’ve never actually done around Christmas although I really should have, I’m really looking forward to it and this year I’ve developed a particular interest in baking nice treats. I also want to try out a vegan gingerbread men recipe.

Decide On A Christmas Dinner – I’m kind of stuck for ideas here, my Mum and I went vegan and since then we haven’t been able to think of a proper Christmas meal to have on Christmas day – of course there’s lots of nice food that you can eat if you’re vegan and we’ve found lots of nice recipes, but none of them scream Christmas dinner at me. If there are any other fellow vegans that have any ideas for a Christmas meal please do let me know in the comments and leave a link to a recipe.

Successfully Buy And Order All Of My Christmas Presents In Time – I’ve never not done this, but there’s a first time for everything. I always get slightly stressed around Christmas that something’s going to go wrong with someone’s present and I’ll actually get the wrong thing, or the thing will be broken and I’ll have lost the receipt, or they won’t like it, or it won’t arrive etc. so I’m just hoping that my present buying all goes smoothly. I’ve bought most of the presents, I just have to get presents for my parents and our close family friends now. Oh, and the person I’m secret Santa to.

Don’t Break Any Christmas Decorations – Okay, I know this might be a bit of a weird one but I have a reputation in my house to always break the Christmas decorations. I don’t know what it is, but I always break at least three Christmas decorations whilst decorating the tree. I either drop a glass/china thing on the floor, causing it to smash, or I accidentally destroy the string that gives it the ability to hang on the tree. Every. Single. Year. you’d think that after 16 years of living I would have learnt, but apparently not.

Try And Not Be Scared About Opening My Christmas Presents – I wrote a post about My Present Opening Fear earlier on in Blogmas which you can go and read for some more background, but basically I get nervous of opening presents in case I don’t like them, it’s just the expectation from others and the excitement they have at giving you a present they think you’ll really like. Being scared and stressed about opening presents, however, is a little upsetting and saddening because it makes the enjoyment and excitement of opening presents lessen a little bit, instead of being insanely excited about not knowing what someone’s got you, I get really nervous, I am of course excited but nervous at the same time. This year I want to be just excited, no fear, no nervousness, just pure excitement.

Make Breakfast On Christmas Morning – I don’t know about anyone else, but breakfast on Christmas morning is always a bit of a fail in my family because half of us tend to get given chocolate or other tasty delights and start eating them before breakfast, leaving little to know room in their stomachs for any actually breakfast, those who don’t stuff their faces with sweets as soon as unwrapping them, *cough* me *cough* just end up having to have something not all that exciting because there’s no point cooking something if no one else is going to be eating it. This year, however, I plan on cooking vegan pancakes (the new and improved recipe, because the current recipe I use always tastes a little odd) and having us all sit down at the table and it breakfast together – something we get little time to do lately as we’re all getting older and waking up at different times and leaving the house at different times for jobs, commitments etc.

Win At Least One Game – I plan on playing lots of games with my family on Christmas day, again, something we get very little time to do because people are always off doing their own thing with their lives and our schedules hardly ever seem to match. I’m not always the loser when we play games but I’m not often the winner either, if you know what I mean. I’m not one of those obnoxious people that insists one winning all the time and calls other people cheats if they win and I don’t, it would just be nice to win, at least once.

Successfully Hide My Secret Santa Identity – This year, for the first time ever in my life, I am taking part in a Secret Santa, I have to say I’m actually a little excited but at the same time slightly nervous that the present I get won’t be liked by the receiver, but oh well, they’re not supposed to know it’s me. However, I have an absolutely terrible poker face and if they suspect it’s me I most likely won’t be able to hide it, but I really hope that I can. I would like to be able to keep things secret/quiet even if someone asks me and guesses the truth. I’m getting the person a pretty obvious present as something I would give them, it’s a bit of a joke/teasing present that I feel will make it pretty obvious it was me, but I don’t really care.

Remember All My Lines During My Christmas Show – Another first time for me this year is being in my theatre’s Christmas show, we’ve got a completely sold out show and whilst my part isn’t a very big one, I do get very nervous before a show, stressing that I’ll forget my lines – it’s only happened to me once – but it always stresses me out so fingers crossed it all runs smoothly this year. Also, I’m in four shows which is unusual for the shows I’m normally in.

Put Up The Christmas Tree – No Christmas is complete without a Christmas tree, I know obviously I’m going to put up the Christmas tree, but I just thought I would add it on here anyway.

Go To Work Wearing Festive Clothing/Accessories – I am working on Christmas eve and I’m one of those people who really close to Christmas likes to get properly festive – and by really close to Christmas I mean like the 22nd – but once it gets close enough I’ll have Christmas earrings, nails, festive-coloured make-up, Christmas jumpers, Christmas headband, the whole thing and I’m not even ashamed of it. It makes me really happy when I get to go into work close to Christmas because I get to dress up like this and I personally really enjoy it, I don’t know about the rest of the staff and customers but it makes me happy. I just hope I don’t forget to do it this year as I’m leaving early to go and perform in my Christmas show.

Complete Blogmas Without Having Missed A Day – This is my first year participating in Blogmas and knowing my recent blogging history in the commitment department I’m terrified that although my blogging is going really well at the moment it’s still only the 12elf (get it? Lame joke, I know.) and has so much possibility to go down hill from here, especially the closer it gets to Christmas and the busier I get. I fear that I either won’t have time, or will forget, to schedule posts for the days I won’t have time to write any and then there just won’t be a post. It’s not that I’m afraid of letting you guys down, because although I respect you all very much and appreciate your support, I’m doing Blogmas more for myself than for my followers, I blog for myself, but it does help to know that people are listening, so I want to do this for myself and prove that I can dedicate myself to doing something and actually complete it. Sometimes my faith in my own abilities isn’t very high, it’s like I’m constantly having to prove myself to myself, which is A) a mouthful and B) very frustrating.

Anyway, that is my Christmas bucket list, I hope you enjoyed reading it, I will try and notify you at the end of the month at how successful I was at actually completing these things, if I can find some space in my blog schedule to fit it – we all know no one wants to be reading posts about Christmas after December so I’m going to try and publish it as close to the end of the month as possible… or maybe… never mind, just planning away internally. My mind always seems to be thinking of my blog in some way or another. Please leave a comment letting me know what you hope to get achieved this Christmas, I would love to hear about them!

If you enjoyed this post please make sure to give it a like and follow me if you aren’t already for many more Christmas-themed posts throughout the rest of Blogmas and other exciting posts in the new year!

If you wish/need to get in touch you can do so using my e-mail – aninspiredteen@gmail.com

Merry Christmas!

Inspired Teen 🙂

Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram

 

4 thoughts on “My Christmas Bucket List

  1. For a vegan meal you could have nut roast, or do a roast but replace the meat with something like the Linda Mccartny sausages which are vegan and then use vegetable stock in the gravy. I don’t know if you live in England or not, but Tesco has a pretty good range of free from meat range (I’m not vegan but was veggie for a while)

    Also Laura Lejune put up a youtube video of UK vegan christmas foods you may find helpful https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3buu92d_KU

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

